防疫模范生越南:经济逐步复苏?

5/18/2020

越南防疫佳绩有目共睹,政府自4月23日以来循序渐进地松绑封锁政策,尽管受全球疫情影响,其宏观数据仍不如预期。 越南政府于上周(5月15日)调整了原先设定的5%经济增长率目标,根据不同假设情境制订两个方案:若主要贸易伙伴的疫情在今年第三季得到控制,则增长目标为4.4%%-5.2%;若主要贸易伙伴的疫情迟至第四季才得到控制,则增长目标为3.6%%-4.4%。 越南目前的情况究竟为何? 是时候复苏了吗? 本篇文章我们将针对多方面进行简要更新。

资本市场MSCI越南指数自三月底以来已反弹逾30%(图一),收复自一月底以来新冠疫情跌幅的60%,更领先区域市场及整体新兴市场(图二)。 消费类股和地产类股领涨,西贡啤酒和Vincom Retail分别上涨50.2%42.7%。 然而,由于穆迪日前将五家越南金融机构评等降级,西贡商业信用银行、HDBank和越南投资与发展银行等银行股表现不尽理想。 银行业坏账占未偿还贷款总额比率预计将在第二季达到2.9-3.2%,而在2020年底落在2.6-3.0%区间。 若疫情未在第二季得到控制,其坏帐率可能高达4%。 越南股市目前估值为12.72021年预测市盈率、2.3倍市净率,低于过去十年历史平均水平。

新冠疫情:越南人口近亿,确诊病例却仅约300人且无死亡个案,使该国重启经济的步伐较大多数东南亚邻国迅速许多。 越南政府日前已宣布重新开放所有商业活动,且越南成功防疫的佳绩加强外国投资者信心,市场预计在疫情过后将有大量外资涌入越南。 随着近期社交距离限制措施的松绑,国内旅行已恢复至去年同期的38%,且部分国际航班可望在六月初恢复运行。

宏观经济:政府预期在新冠疫情后,该国将迎来大规模经济复苏,今年GDP增长率可达5%,与世界银行估计的4.9%相符,而今年的通胀率将维持在4%以下。 总理阮春福对此目标提出五个关键复苏要素:私营部门投资、外国直接投资、出口、公共投资和国内消费。 国际货币基金组织(IMF)则保守估计越南今年经济增长可能放缓至2.7%,而在货币和财政宽松政策的推动下,明年将出现强劲反弹达到7%。 越南央行上周12日宣布降息2码,两个月内已二度降息。 此外,越南盾(兑美元)汇率保持稳定,今年以来跌幅小于1%(图三)。 

制造业:苹果公司将在本季度首次在越南生产数百万部AirPods无线耳机,其亦反映跨国公司多元化供应链的趋势。 "越南制造"AirPods无线耳机将由立讯精密和歌尔声学生产,约占整体产能的30%。 鸿海、和硕及仁宝电脑都在越南北部扩大产能,以协助谷歌和亚马逊实现多元化采购。 哈佛商学院教授施威利(Willy Shih)表示,中国仍拥有最好的基础设施、运输系统、训练有素的工人及物流,但像越南这样的国家是非常容易融入"中国加一、中国加二,或甚至中国加三(长期而言)"的模式以因应全球供应链。

资金流向:越南的外国直接投资(FDI)在2020年初表现不俗,1月的外国直接投资超过40亿美元,远高于前几年同期数据,主要受一美国主导的能源超级项目利多鼓舞。 2-3月由于全球疫情蔓延且颁布相关封锁政策,资金流入量放缓;4月下旬,越南新冠病毒确诊案例曲线趋缓,封锁政策松绑,外国直接投资重获动力,增至60亿美元(图四)。 在股市方面,外国投资者在全球疫情恐慌期间减少新兴市场部位,越南亦不例外地呈净流出,不过其流出量属东盟同侪国中最低者(图五)。

基础设施:尽管许多基础设施项目因疫情延误,但重大关键项目并未受到影响。 位于胡志明市高科技园区的全国最大数据中心已于5月初开工,而占地10000平方米的FPT电信数据中心将于明年年初竣工。 此外,胡志明市城市轨道交通管理局已提交了一个新的20公里地铁项目,投资总额为29亿美元。 这条新线路是八条地铁线之一,总长度为230公里,设有18个车站贯穿8个市区,预计于2025年动工。 地铁1号线(滨城 - 仙泉)已完工约80%,预计将于2021年通车。

旅游业:纽约旅游杂志《Travel + Leisure》日前公布全球17个疫情后最佳旅游目的地,越南榜上有名。 2019年初,该杂志提名越南中部的会安古镇为全球最佳城市,主因为其古老的文化根基、独特的建筑、具感染性的活力,以及拥有全球最棒的街头美食之一。 总理最近亦指派文化体育旅游部制订旅游业发展的措施,包括近期为刺激国内旅游而发起的"越南人玩越南"运动。

科技发展:移动货币试点项目目前已提交待总理审核批准,其标志着越南使用电信账户发展移动支付的阶段性突破。 此外,越南央行亦积极加快实现无现金支付,其目标是在今年底,将现金支付比例从2019年的11.3%降至10%以下。 根据IDCBackbase共同发布的《亚太金融科技与数字银行(2025)》,越南的移动网银交易预计到2025年将增长400%。

Postcard from Vietnam: Updates on market, macro and various with reopening underway

5/18/2020

Vietnam government has started a gradual and orderly reopening since April 23rd, though the macro data was still weak as expected due to the lockdown around the world. After initially keeping the goal for 5% GDP growth this year the government revised growth target last week to a two-scenario range of 4.4%-5.2% if major trading partners can control the outbreak by end of Q3 and 3.6%-4.4% if by Q4. How are things doing in Vietnam at the moment? Is it the time to position for recovery? Here is a quick update on the various.

On market: MSCI Vietnam rebounded over 30% from the bottom in late March, recovering 60% of the drop before the pandemic damaged the investors’ confidence in late January.  Consumer and property names led the rally with Saigon Beer and Vincom Retail went up 50.2% and 42.7% respectively.  On the contrary, banking stocks such as Sacombank, HDBank, Bank for Investment and Development of Vietnam underperformed as Moody’s placed five Vietnamese financial institutions on review for downgrade.  The banking sector is facing a bad debt ratio of 2.9-3.2% of total outstanding loans by 2Q and 2.6-3% by the end of 2020.  If the outbreak is not controlled by 2Q, the bad debt ratio will be close to 4%.  The market is trading at 12.7x in 2021E P/E and 2.3x in P/B, blow the historical average of the past decade. 

On pandemic: Vietnam has reported fewer than 300 cases and zero deaths, putting the country on course to revive its economy much sooner than most of its neighbours in Southeast Asia.  After the 21st straight day without any recorded community transmission of the virus, the government announced all business services could now reopen.  Market expects foreign investment to pour into Vietnam after the pandemic.  Minster of Transport has called for the resumption of international flights in and out of the country.  Domestic travel recovered to about 38% of the same period of last year following the easing of social distancing measures in the past few days.

On macro: The government expects a dramatic economic recovery following the COVID-19 pandemic, with GDP growth forecast at 5%, in-line with the World Bank’s estimate of 4.9%, while inflation would be maintained at under 4% this year.   To meet the target, Prime Minister Phuc mentioned five key factors for the recovery, namely private sector investment, foreign direct investment, exports, public investment and domestic consumption.  IMF forecasts the nation’s economic growth may slow down to 2.7% this year before seeing a stronger rebound at 7% next year supported by monetary and fiscal easing.  Vietnam’s central bank cut another 50bps in interest rate, the second time in two months.

On manufacturing:  Apple will produce millions of its popular AirPods wireless earphones in Vietnam for the first time this quarter, reinforcing the trend of multinational companies diversifying their supply chain.  Around 30% of total classic AirPods production will be "made in Vietnam" by Goertek and Luxshare.  Foxconn, Pegatron and Compal Electronics are all expanding production in north Vietnam to help Google and Amazon diversify the sourcing.  Willy Shih, professor at the Harvard Business School, said that China still has the best infrastructure, transportation, skilled workers and logistics, but a country like Vietnam can easily fit into the scenario of “China plus one, China plus two, or even China plus three other countries in the longer term" for the global supply chain.

On flows: Vietnam’s foreign direct investment (FDI) had a good start in 2020 with more than USD 4 billion seen in January, much higher than the same period in previous years, due to an American-led energy mega project.  Then the inflows slowed down in February and March on the back of the spreading of the COVID-19 around the globe and the implantation of social distancing policies.  Fortunately, Vietnam began to ease the lockdown in late April when its coronavirus curve flattened, so that the FDI gained momentum again since then and rose to USD 6 billion.  On the equity side, Vietnam made no exception to see foreign investors reducing the exposure in emerging markets, but it had the smallest outflows among ASEAN markets.

On infrastructure: Many infrastructure projects have been delayed by the pandemic, but a few key ones are not affected.  The work of the country’s largest data center located in HCMC Hi-Tech Park just began in early May.  The FPT Telecom Data Center, covering an area of 10,000 sqm, will be completed by early next year.  Besides, Ho Chi Minh City Management Authority for Urban Railway has submitted a new 20km metro project with investment totaling USD 2.9 billion.  The new line is one of the eight metro lines with total length of 230km and is designed to run through 8 city districts with 18 stations with the construction begins in 2025.  Indeed, the first line – Metro Ben Thanh-Suoi Tien is expected to open 2021 and is currently 80% completed.

On tourism: The New York based travel magazine Travel + Leisure has name Vietnam on its list of top 17 destinations for tourists after the COVID-19 crisis ends.  Earlier in 2019, the magazine nominated Hoi An ancient town in central Vietnam as the best city in the world, with ancient roots, distinct architecture, a contagious energy, and one of the best street food scenes on the planet.  The Prime Minister has recently assigned the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism to devise measures to develop tourism including the recently launched campaign of “Vietnamese people travel Vietnam” in a bid to stimulate domestic tourism.

On technology: A mobile money pilot project has been submitted to the Prime Minister for approval, marking a bold step for the development of payments using telecommunication accounts in Vietnam.  Besides, the central bank was also hastening procedures to accelerate cashless payments.  The Government targeted to reduce the ratio of cash payments to less than 10% by the end of this year, from 11.3% in 2019.  Separately, mobile banking transactions in Vietnam are expected to increase by 400% by 2025, according to the Fintech and Digital Banking Asia Pacific co-released by IDC and Backbase.

Exhibit 1: Vietnam market recovered significantly

Exhibit 2: Resilient performance versus ASEAN, Asia ex-Japan, and the emerging markets

Exhibit 3: Low correlation with all major equity markets provides good diversification

Exhibit 4: Vietnamese dong remains as a stable currency with low volatility

Exhibit 5: FDI flows stays healthy in 2020

Exhibit 6: Vietnam had the smallest outflows among ASEAN stock markets


Related reading:

ASEAN – the China Plus One Solution

Will China’s GDP overtake the US this decade?