週期變化下,我們該如何投資?

Jan 25, 2019

如本文件的英文版與中文版內容不一致,則以英文版為準.

林哲文

資深指導顧問

今年,我們正在進入市場的一個交叉路口,許多週期即將告一段落。本文是林哲文先生作為我司資深指導顧問的首篇撰文。林先生在下文中提出了他在當下錯綜複雜的經濟、市場和貨幣週期中對於資產配置的見解。以此配置建議為指引,我們在股票、固定收益、大宗商品和貨幣方面分享了投資者在 2019年可以採用ETF為實踐工具的投資策略。

市場和經濟週期正在發生轉變 - 這對投資者意味著什麼。

美國經濟增長正在放緩,部分經濟指標顯示2020年經濟衰退風險加劇。以標準普爾500指數週期調整市盈率衡量的美國股票估已經觸及先前的週期性高峰,意味著美股將觸頂下滑,並且可能持續回落。此外,中國經濟增長亦將繼續減緩,而世界其他地區的走勢則仍持續動蕩。

資料來源:http://www.multpl.com/shiller-pe/截至2019年1月24日)

好消息是,現階段尚且不至於出現金融危機因此,投資人不用太過擔心像是納斯達克崩盤(2000年至2002年)或全球金融危機2007年至2009年)所遭遇的45%50虧損。不過,儘管現階段沒有結構性崩盤風險,投資人仍須謹慎留意此週期性蕭條。

去年1月,我在新加坡海峽時報登載了一篇<2018改繁榮>(點此閱讀),當時我是這麼寫的——「秋老虎」,指秋季不合時宜的回暖,其不應該與春天相混淆。經濟循環是有週期的,而我們只是在週期中緩了一點。全球經濟將在2018年持續成長,且徹底的熊市也不會出現在經濟衰退期間,不過,風險確實正在上升。不論是牛市或熊市,都不會是永久的。這是我在去年初寫下的2018年經濟展望。

熊市正從東方開始蔓延

回到2019年展望:雖然市場2018年末的售中反彈,但我認為我們已經進入一個緩慢震蕩下行的全球熊市中,且這波熊市正從東方開始蔓延。大部分亞洲地區已經入所謂的熊市。我們必須理解,市場並不健全——近期市場反彈回升,卻造成部分地區下跌逾20%。以宏觀角度而言,亞洲除日本地區可以被認為已經進入熊市,而美國、歐洲和日本則徘徊於熊市邊緣。

資料來源:彭博(截至2019年1月24日)

東西方經濟綜觀

美國經濟已處於或略微超過其黃金時期借貸利率上升的情況下,美國經濟將在2018年特朗普財政刺激計劃中脫穎而出。然而,在此之前,美聯儲的貨幣彈藥正處於低水位,且政府債務佔國內生產總的比例高於全球金融危機爆發時比例66%。

另外,美國收益率曲線令人感到擔憂。雖然 10年期和3個月期美國國債收益率之間的利差仍為正數,但在撰寫本文時僅38個基點,這是一個非常平坦的收益率曲線。 10期和2期的利差甚至更平坦,17個基點。10期和1期的利差也極小。從歷史平均水平來看,在未來4個季度內並不會出現衰退事實上,在過去的研究中,只有當曲線反轉時,才會看到衰退的風險增加。

然而,這些經濟指標正在迅速變化,美聯儲手中有很多指標可以控制。如果美聯儲今年將利率提25個基點,那麼整體情勢將可能快速變化利差早已是廣為人知的指標——自1955年以來,10年期和1年期美國國債負利差已經在10次實例中,成功預測9次經濟衰退。唯一一次引發的「誤報」是1966年,而儘管當時並沒有發生經濟衰退,它仍成功警示了其經濟成長從1966年的6.6%,急劇下降至1967年的2.7%。更重要的是,標準普爾500指數從1966年開始到1967年結束之間趨於平緩。

佛拉迪米爾列寧有句名言:「有時候幾十年裡什麼事都沒發生,有時候幾週裡發生了幾十年的大事。」去年年中,美聯儲工作人員告訴政策制定者,他們偏好的收益率曲線替代方案——「近期遠期收益率利差」表示經濟衰退的可能性僅15%近期遠期收益率利差:指國債六個季度遠期利率和當前三個月收益率的利差。)而正是在今年初,這個利差轉為負數,其意味2020年將出現經濟衰退。

中國經濟將不會如在全球金融危機復甦期間那樣迅速回穩,其2018年國內生產總值增長率為6.6%,是自1990年以來的最低水平,而這可能在2019年進一步放緩至6%。此外,12月官方製造業採購經理人指數降至49.4意味著景氣收縮。財新製造業採購經理人指數證實了這一點,其為49.7,19個月以來的首次收縮。雖然中國祭出諸多刺激政策,以避免經濟增長劇烈下滑,但其規模不太可能再如2008年的大規模刺激計劃。中國經濟增長的高信貸強度將受到限制。另外,中國的經濟放緩已經在世界各地引起反響。

德國的經濟情勢正如大部分歐洲地區一樣,與中國有高度相關,其增長率2018年第3季度下滑0.2%,且在2018年第4季度預估增長率為0.1%,僅只是避免再次下滑。在2018年第4季度和2019年第1季度,歐元區的經濟增長率可能出現低迷增長,約略高於零。隨著英國脫歐、法國民眾動亂及中國經濟放緩,2019前景不太可能明朗化。

另外,東盟的增長勢頭在2018年下半年也有所緩解,日本東盟製造業採購經理人指數在201812月為50.3,表示活動趨於平緩。製造業採購經理人指數在收縮邊緣掙扎。

2019經濟展望,從哪裡開始?

我的核心情是全球經濟停滯不前或陷入溫和衰退。

鑑於只有溫和的經濟衰退的情況,牛市可能會以嗚咽的形式,咆哮式的結束——這意味著它可能會帶來痛苦,但不會是災難性的。雖然排除發生金融危機的可能是不明智的,但在過去十年中,非理性使用「政策支持」已經證明其能有效控制潛在危機。當市場失去信心時,我將不會做任何預測。市場信心是一個關鍵因素——市場與經濟之間的聯繫意味著感知可以創造現實。

這種經濟放緩伴隨的將是通貨緊縮,而不是通貨膨脹。停滯性通貨膨脹則不太可能發生。中國的生產者價格通脹率在6月達到頂峰,並且自那以後顯著下降;而消費物價通脹率則10月以來持續緩和。美國通脹在年中見頂,此後一直在下降。隨著油價第4季度暴跌,全球通脹可能會進一步放緩。

股票:全球已經進入一個不同步的熊市,許多亞洲市場已經下跌超過20%。經濟增長減速緩慢且不均勻,市場預期將可能會有更多的類似今年1月那樣的反彈,但最終結果將可能式一系列較低的高點和較低的低點。

美國市場是過去十年中全球股票表現的領,而現在處於與其他全球市場相對績效的極端狀態。美國股票的目前比世界其他地區高得多。鑑於美國的盈利預測下降,我們以歷史市盈率討論,標準普爾500指數的市盈率18倍,MSCI AC亞太地區指數則為12倍。就市帳率而言,標準普爾500指數為3.1倍,MSCI AC亞太地區指數則為1.4倍。我們可以觀察到美國股票相對於其他指數(包括歐元區斯托克 50 指數)的高相對估。在大中華區,相對估變得更加極端,恒生中國企業指數的市盈率為8倍,且以帳面價值交易。以週期調整市盈率而言,美國的估幾乎是亞洲新興市場的2 - 29倍,而亞洲新興市場的15倍。

當然,我不知道這種高估是否即將結束。但在這裡,我會說沒有什麼是永

美國股市的高估是由美國經濟例外論」的概念所推動的。但如果美經濟正如我所預期般放緩,「美國例外論」可能只不過是週期內的分歧。由於市場已經開始對可預期的經濟放緩做出反應,如賣出亞洲新興市場,因此,我大膽預測美國股市也將為此做出折價反應。另外,鴿派美聯儲看跌美元,20114月到20171月已經出現了近6年的反彈。實際上,我預期美元疲軟,且美元債券收益率持平甚至走低,而這將會緩解新興市場經濟體和資產的壓力。

這並不是說亞洲日本地區或新興市場股票將免於全球經濟衰退,不過,許多負面訊息其實可能早已反應在當前價格中。

隨著經濟和市場可能出現政權更迭,投資者也應該考慮從增長到價的風格轉變並轉向具有較低國內生產總值敏感度的股票行業,如醫療保健消費必需品電信公司和公用事業。在新興亞洲,由於中國正在尋找其在經濟增長、經濟改革和貿易戰威脅間的平衡,因此將投資重點著重於個股價值,而非行業類別,可能較為可行。這意味著,投資者應留意估值低、資產負債表強勁、防禦性收益可靠的股票。

資料來源:彭博(截至2019年1月24日)


資料來源:彭博(截至2019年1月24日)

債券:2018年利率上升的情況下不受歡迎,隨著週期轉變以及美聯儲失去加息意願,今年債券可能會出現溫和的回報。

美國10年期國債收益率可能達到峰3.24%,2年期國債收益率則可達到2.96%。儘管收益率可能會稍微回升,但皆不太可能突破2018年末的高點。事實上,由於股市可能出現更多下行空間,投資者也許可以考慮使用政府債券以穩定投資組合。

隨著未來經濟增長前景黯淡,收益率曲線已經完全平緩。股市2018年表現不佳,今年可能會更糟。考量收益曲線反轉和隨之而來的經濟衰退,投資者可以考慮增加債券投資組合的平均存續時間。

另外,隨著全球經濟放緩,信貸違約風險將上升,利差亦將可能擴大,因此投資者應該考慮提高持倉中信用風險的品質。

大宗商品:原油價格可能在超賣情況下反彈,但由於經濟增長放緩,其前景不樂觀。西德克薩斯中間基原油(WTI)價格預期不會突破70美元。另外,工業金屬儘管在2018經歷艱難的一年,其將可能持續受中國經濟放緩影響下跌。

貨幣:20114月以來的美元牛市可能結束,其高峰期約在20171月。如果我們確實看到了美國經濟例外論」的高峰期,那麼從20181月開始的美元指數(DXY反彈不太可能突破前期高點104。事實上,去年的反彈可能是從2017年初即開始的新美元熊市內的反週期走勢。

美元指數最近的週期持續了大約67年:1985-1992(下行週期; 1995-2001上行週期; 2002-2008(下行週期; 2011-2017上行週期)。 20114月至20171的週期約6年,歷史不必重複以巧合地滿足圖表對稱性但美國經濟能承受美元強勢的持續時間可能會受到限制。

2011年初以來的強勢美元指數,主要受到美國和9國集團(G9)國家利率之間利差的推動,而其之間的利差關係可以美國和9國集團國家之間的2年交換利率差異觀察。這樣的利率差異將可能延續,並使美元獲得支撐。


資料來源:彭博(截至2019年1月24日

美元疲軟最明顯的情況應屬美元兌日圓,因為美國經濟衰退和股市疲軟的威脅,促使日圓貸款進一步平倉。

國際貨幣基金組織(IMF認為,以其基本面而言,美元被高估國際清算銀行表示,相對於其長期平均美元被高估。

不得不說,儘管從2018年中期開始的美元上升走勢,其持續升的投機性賭注仍然非常高不過,這可能也暗示有許多投資者見獵心喜,而這樣的熱潮將會在今年晚些時候退燒。

在文章的最後,我想重述我的核心思考價值——市場存在週期,沒有什麼是永久存在的。

本網站由Premia Partners Company Limited(“Premia Partners”)擁有和管理。 Premia Partners保留在不通知的情況下更改、修改、添加或刪除本網站的任何內容和條款及細則的權利。建議用戶定期檢閱本網站的內容以熟悉任何修改。

交易所買賣基金像股票一樣交易,受投資風險影響、市場價值波動,並可能以高於或低於交易所交易基金資產淨值的價格進行交易。經紀佣金和交易所交易基金開支將會降低回報。本網站所載的表現數據僅供參考。過往表現並不代表未來表現。有意投資基金的人士在作出任何投資決定前,應詳細閱讀有關基金發售文件(包括其中所載的風險因素的全文)。

本網站由Premia Partners編制,未經證券及期貨事務監察委員會審閱。
©2018 Premia Partners Company Limited. All rights reserved

Cycles turning - what it means for investors

Jan 25, 2019

Simon Say Boon Lim

Senior Advisor

We enter this year at a crossroads for markets, with multiple cycles coming to an end. In his first insight as our senior advisor, Say Boon Lim offers his thoughts on asset allocation amid diverging economic, market and currency cycles. Following his thoughts as a guide, we introduce a number of ETF implementation ideas for 2019 across equities, fixed income, commodities and even currencies.

Market and economic cycles are turning.

US economic growth is easing, with indicators suggesting heightened risk of a recession in 2020. US stock valuation, measured by the S&P 500 cyclically-adjusted price to earnings (CAPE) ratio, had hit previous cyclical peaks, is mean reverting and will likely continue doing so. The Chinese economy will continue to slow, with feedback loops for the rest of the world.

Source: http://www.multpl.com/shiller-pe/, as of 24 Jan 2019

The good news is there are no suggestions at this stage of another financial crisis. So, a 45-50% wipe out such as suffered in the Nasdaq Crash 0f 2000-2002 and the Global Financial Crisis of 2007-2009 is unlikely. But even without the trauma of structural dislocation, there is still a cycle, with implications for investor strategies.

January last year, I wrote in the Straits Times newspaper of Singapore a cautionary piece headlined “2018: Tamper that exuberance”.  You can read it here.  I cautioned that an “Indian Summer” – an unseasonably warm spell in late autumn – should not be confused with perpetual spring. There is a cycle and we are late in that cycle. Yes, the global economy would continue to grow in 2018. I also agreed an outright bear market was unlikely absent a recession. Nevertheless, risks were rising. And “nothing lasts forever – not bull markets, not bear markets.” That was last year.

The bear in the East

Back to the future: While markets are now rebounding from the late 2018 selloff, I believe we are already in the midst of a slow motion, saw-toothed, global bear market, which started in the East.  Most of Asia is already in a bear market.  It’s patchy – what with the recent rebounds taking some indices that had entered bear market territory out of the 20% decline threshold. But zooming out for a bigger picture, it’s a bear market in most of Asia ex-Japan, albeit with a lot of noise and movement. That leaves the US, Europe, and Japan, which are all teetering on the edge of bear markets.

Source: Bloomberg, as of 24 Jan 2019

The economy, East & West

The US economy is at or a little past its prime. The US economy will be coming off the Trump fiscal stimulus of 2018 at a time when borrowing costs have been raised. And this is at a time when the Federal Reserve is low on monetary ammunition and government debt to GDP some 66% higher than before the start of the Global Financial Crisis.

The yield curve is worrying.  The spread between the 10-year and the 3-month US Treasury yield is still positive. But at around 38 basis points at time of writing, it’s a pretty flat yield curve. The 10-year minus 2-year is even flatter at 17 basis points. Ditto for the 10-year minus 1-year. On historical averages, it still does not suggest a recession within 4 quarters. On past studies, you would be looking at heightened risk of recession only when the curve inverts.

But these are rapidly changing indicators, with much in the hands of the Fed. If the Fed raises rates by just 25 basis points this year, the picture could change quite quickly. For the record, although it’s quite widely known, a negative 10-year minus 1-year spread successfully predicted recession in 9 out of 10 instances since 1955. The only time it triggered a “false alarm” was in 1966. Even then, it picked out dramatic slowing of economic growth from 6.6% in 1966 to 2.7% in 1967. More importantly, the S&P 500 flatlined between start-1966 and end-1967.

V.I. Lenin famously said: “There are decades where nothing happens and there are weeks where decades happen.” Middle of last year, Fed staff told policymakers that their preferred alternative to the yield curve – the “near-term forward spread” – suggested only 15% chance of a recession. (The near-term forward spread measures the difference between the forward rate implied by Treasury bills six quarters from now and the current three-month yield.) Well, that spread went negative early this year, suggesting a recession in 2020.

The Chinese economy is not going to be much help, as it was during the recovery from the Global Financial Crisis. China’s GDP growth came in at 6.6% for 2018, its slowest since 1990. This is likely to slow further to around 6% for 2019. The official manufacturing PMI fell to 49.4 in December, suggesting contraction. The Caixin Manufacturing PMI confirmed this with a reading of 49.7, the first contraction in 19 months. And while China will stimulate to avoid a precipitous growth decline, it is unlikely to repeat the grand stimulus unveiled in 2008. The high and growing “credit-intensivity” of economic growth in China will set limits. And China’s slowdown has already reverberated around the world.

Germany’s economy – which like much of Europe has strong linkages with China – contracted in 3Q2018 (-0.2%) and may have only narrowly avoided another decline in 4Q2018 (with estimates suggesting +0.1% growth).  Eurozone GDP growth for 4Q2018 and 1Q2019 will likely register sluggish growth, marginally above zero. And with Brexit looming, civil disruptions in France, and slowing growth in China, the outlook for the rest of 2019 is unlikely to brighten.

ASEAN’s growth momentum also eased in 2H2018, with the Nikkei ASEAN Manufacturing PMI at 50.3 for December 2018, suggesting activity was flatlining.

Where does it go from here?

My central scenario is the global economy stagnates or goes into a mild recession.

Given only a mild recession, the bull market is likely to end on a whimper rather than a roar – meaning it will likely be painful but not catastrophic. It’s unwise to rule out a financial crisis. But over the past 10 years, the ruthless use of “policy puts” have proved potent in containing potential crises. And I’m not about to guess when markets stop believing. Market confidence is a critical element – the linkages between markets and the economy mean perception can create reality.

The companion to this economic slowdown will be disinflation rather than inflation. Stagflation looks unlikely. China’s producer price inflation rate peaked in June and has declined markedly since. Consumer price inflation has been easing since October. US inflation peaked mid-year and has been declining since. And with the 4Q plunge in oil prices, there will likely be further easing in inflation around the world. 

Equities: This is already a desynchronised bear market, with many of Asia’s markets already down more than 20%. Given the gradual and patchy slowing of economic growth, there will likely be more rebounds such as the one that started in January. But a series of lower highs and lower lows is the most likely end result.

The US market - the global leader in stock performance over the past 10 years – is now at an extreme of relative performance against other global markets. US stock valuations are now at a substantial premium over the rest of the world. Given falling US earnings estimates, it may be better to look at the trailing PE ratio. It’s 18 times for the S&P 500, compared to 12 times for the MSCI AC Asia Pacific. The price to book for the S&P 500 stands at 3.1 versus 1.4 for MSCI AC Asia Pacific. You get the same picture of high relative valuation for US stocks vis-à-vis other indices, including the Euro Stoxx 50. In Greater China, the relative valuation becomes even more extreme, with the HSCEI at 8 times PE and trading on book value. On the Shiller CAPE, US valuation is almost double that for emerging Asia – at around 29 times versus 15 times for Emerging Asia.

Source: Bloomberg, as of 24 Jan 2019

Of course, I don’t know if this overvaluation is about to end. But here again, I will say “nothing lasts forever.”

That US equities overvaluation was driven by the idea of American “economic exceptionalism”. But if the US economy slows, as I expect it to, that “exceptionalism” may be nothing more than cycle divergence. And markets which have already sold down to factor slower economic growth – that is emerging market Asia – may be better bets as US equities start discounting their coming slowdown. Also, a dovish Fed is bearish for a US Dollar that had seen a rally of almost 6 years, from April 2011 to January 2017. Indeed, flat or even lower US bond yields and a weaker Dollar – which is what I expect – will ease pressures on Emerging Market economies and assets.

This is not to suggest that Asian ex-Japan or Emerging Market equities will be immune to a global recession. But much of the bad news is likely to already be in the price.  

With the likely “regime change” in the economy and markets, investors should also consider a style change, from growth to value. And to switch to stocks/sectors with lower GDP-sensitivity – healthcare, consumer staples, telcos, and utilities. In Emerging Asia, the focus might be less on sectors than on quality, as China balances between growth, reform, and the trade war threat. That means stocks with low valuations, strong balance sheets, and defensible earnings.

Bonds: Unloved amidst rising rates in 2018, bonds could see a modest return to favour this year, as the cycle turns and as the Fed loses its appetite for rate hikes.

US Treasury yields have probably seen their peaks at 3.24% for the 10-year and 2.96% for the 2-year. They could trade back up a bit but we are unlikely to see a break above those late-2018 peaks. Indeed, with more downside likely in equities, investors could return to government bonds to stabilise portfolios.

The yield curve has completely flattened as future economic growth prospects dim. Equities have performed poorly in 2018 and are likely to do worse this year.  With yield curve inversion – and an

accompanying recession – a possibility, investors could consider increasing the average duration in their bond portfolios.

Source: Bloomberg, as of 24 Jan 2019

They should also consider moving up in credit quality as the world economy slows. With deteriorating economic conditions, and likely accompanying pickup in credit defaults, spreads will also likely widen.

Commodities: Crude oil prices could rebound on oversold conditions, but their prospects are unexciting with slowing economic growth. Don’t expect a return above US$70 for WTI. Industrial metals have had a tough year in 2018. But the rolling over of prices from 2018 may not be done yet, as the Chinese economy continues to slow.

Currencies: The US Dollar bull market from April 2011 is likely over. The peak was probably January 2017. If indeed we have seen the peak of US “economic exceptionalism”, then the DXY (the US Dollar Index) rally from January 2018 is unlikely to break past the prior high of 104. Indeed, the bounce last year may have been a counter-cyclical move within a new Dollar bear market, which could have started early 2017.

The DXY’s recent cycles have lasted around 6-7 years: 1985-1992 (down); 1995-2001 (up); 2002-2008 (down); 2011-2017 (up). The move from April 2011 to January 2017 was close to 6 years. History doesn’t have to repeat itself to satisfy chart symmetry. But there might be limits on how long the US economy can withstand bouts of Dollar strength.

DXY strength since early 2011 had been driven by interest differentials between US and G9 rates, and that relationship is visible using the differential in the 2-year swap rate between the US and the G9 as a proxy. Chances are interest rate differentials will roll over, taking support out from under the Dollar. 

Source: Bloomberg, as of 24 Jan 2019

US dollar weakness may be most pronounced against the JPY, as the threat of a US recession and equities weakness see further unwinding of JPY loans.

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) reckons the US Dollar is overvalued against fundamentals, and the Bank of International Settlements says it is overvalued relative to its long-term average.

It has to be said though that speculative bets on continued appreciation of the Dollar are still running very high, continuing the upward swing in sentiment from mid-2018. But that may be a signal that this is a very crowded trade that could unwind later in the year.

I go back to my thinking on these things – there are cycles and nothing lasts forever.

Unless otherwise stated, all data are sourced from Bloomberg as of 21 Jan 2019.

This website is owned and managed by Premia Partners Company Limited ("Premia Partners") . Premia Partners reserves the right to change, modify, add or delete any content and the terms & conditions of use of this website without notice. Users are advised to periodically review the contents of this website to be familiar with any modifications.

ETFs trade like stocks, are subject to investment risk, fluctuate in market value and may trade at prices above or below the ETFs net asset value. Brokerage commissions and ETF expenses will reduce returns.The performance figures contained on this website are for information purposes only. Past performance is not indicative of future performance.Persons interested in investing in the Funds should read the relevant fund offering documents (including the full text of the risk factors stated therein) in details before making any investment decision.

This website is prepared by Premia Partners and has not been reviewed by the Securities and Futures Commission.
©2018 Premia Partners Company Limited. All rights reserved