尋找成長賽道:驅動生產力爆發的亞洲創新科技

1/15/2021

我們觀察到資產配置模式在轉變:在傳統的地域或因子主導的基礎模式上需要注入更多對新舊產業區分及大趨勢發展的考量,從而在經濟結構性改變中捕捉到長期超額收益。

於全球經濟「慢球化」的狀況下如何尋找成長賽道,近年來越來越成為至關重要的命題。當我們思考如何將大趨勢發展下的成長機遇映射到投資策略時,不少機構以及長期投資者對著名耶魯大學捐贈基金在投資組合資產配置上提升另類資產配置的模式也更趨之若鶩並悄悄趨同。從一定程度來看,這其實並非是摒棄傳統的基於地域或因子角度的資產配置,而是更多的將大趨勢形態和全球格局變化等因素更為全面地整合到長期投資策略中。這樣,投资者可以更有效地設定投資佈局,通過參與新興創新領域、技術突破領域、以及社會結構性轉變的過程創造更好的長期超額收益 – 也就是「與時間做朋友」。

在亞洲這種迭代變化就更明顯。創新領域的領導者正在積極打破生產力瓶頸,借助人口紅利以及區域資源優勢在智能電動車、新能源、5G、 雲計算、生物科技、企業數字轉型、機械自動化等等眾多科技賦能領域,推動著生產力可持續增長的飛速發展。然而即便找到增長點,從投資角度來看,亞洲ETF市場相較於歐美成熟市場,仍然局限於市值權重的指數投資策略,鮮有高效透明的指數配置工具去捕捉這些長期大趨勢,配置工具的缺失仍是一道難題。

隨著亞洲逐漸成為全球經濟增長的主要引擎,更有效靈活的投資亞洲大趨勢下的高成長賽道變得尤為重要。此外,投資者根據其投資目標,如何更好地理解並有效地將這些趨勢型、主題型成長策略整合配置到組合裡也是一個必要的課題,尤其是傳統資產配置理論與工具由於歷史原因,對於捕捉顛覆性創新板塊以及社會迭代轉型的投資機會是非常缺失滯後的。我們希望通過本報告為大家提供參考,更好的立足當下、投資未來:

·         亞洲市場正經歷著哪些大趨勢,意味著什麼可投資的成長機遇

·         行業思維,如何以更全面的方式重新思考「創新科技」

·         亞洲創新科技指數是如何捕捉眾多創新行業中的成長機遇

·         投資者可以如何運用亞洲創新科技指數於全球投資組合的配置與構建

Premia FactSet亞洲創新科技指數包含了50間區內領先的創新科技公司,它們在超過130個創新相關子行業有顯著收入,也展示了亞洲市場強勁的增長前景。

 

Premia亞洲創新科技ETF(3181 HK/9181 HK)2020年全年回報為59.8%,是全球表現最好的亞洲ETF之一。

Where to find growth: Tailwinds from Asia Megatrends, and Playbook to participate in Asia Innovations and Technology-enabled Productivity Growth

1/13/2021

We see the need to evolve from conventional geography centric or factor-based asset allocation models to sector and megatrend-minded models to capture secular alpha from structural changes.

“Where to find growth” has been the top of mind question for many in this slow growth environment. As we observe how megatrends play out, the much sought-after Yale Endowment approach of allocating more to alternatives lend much insight into modern portfolio management. Perhaps rather than a shift from conventional geography-centric or factor-based asset allocation models, it can be considered as a more holistic long term investing approach with megatrends and paradigm shifts in mind. It offers investors relevance - the choice to participate in the exciting innovations, breakthroughs and progresses from structural changes, and one that generates alpha for investors through the passage of time.

Coming back to Asia, where innovative leaders have been disrupting the productivity deadlock every day, powering sustainable growth through technology, and leveraging on the demographic tailwinds of the region – across smart EV & new energy, 5G, cloud computing, biotech, enterprise digitalization, robotic automation, and more.  Yet given the Asia ETF market is still constrained by mainstream market capitalization-based approaches, investors are left with few efficient tools to position for secular growth trends in contrary to the developed markets.

As Asia increasingly becomes the growth engine of the world, fixing this void with an appropriate approach becomes more important than ever. In addition, it is vital to help investors develop use cases of how such growth themes fit into their broader portfolio strategies for better total portfolio management, especially as traditional asset allocation models typically do not consider disruptive trends. This report aims to empower readers with a playbook to position ahead for tomorrow today by addressing:

•  How megatrends play out in Asia to generate enormous growth opportunities

•  How to break away from the conventional GICS sector mindset and re-think “Innovative Technologies” more holistically

•  How the Premia FactSet Asia Innovative Technology Index (AIT) capture growth from a broad array of existing and emerging innovative industries that disrupt their respective markets

•  How AIT can add value as a critical portfolio building block for investors

The AIT index basket comprises 50 companies with significant revenue exposure spanning across over 130 innovative sectors and exhibiting strong growth prospects from the pan-Asia universe. 

Throughout the full year of 2020, the Premia Asia Innovative Technology ETF (3181 HK / 9181 HK) which tracks the AIT Index generated a total return of 59.8%, and is among the best performing Asia ETFs globally.