亞洲 “數位革命” 如何改變我們的生活?

2018年8月12日

如本文件的英文版與中文版內容不一致,則以英文版為準.

潘海琳 , CFA, FRM

VP Strategy & Analytics

徐琮恩

Analyst, Strategy & Analytics

每天清晨,我的小米人工智慧音箱“小愛”會準時叫醒我並播放新聞和天氣預報,我會透過美團訂購早餐到公司,並以支付寶付款。有時候,我會騎摩拜單車出門到附近的地鐵站,或用百度地圖直接打車。百度會找到最近距離的滴滴出行或其他打車服務平臺司機,並為司機選擇從家到公司的最佳出行路線。路上,我會翻閱我的微信朋友圈和常用的微信公眾號;此外,我還可以透過我的手機,查看我的智慧手錶和智慧秤同步的最新健身成效資料,甚至遠端重設家門密碼給清潔工人或遙控居家各種智慧電器。
隨著物聯網時代的來臨,數字轉型正迅速地將那些我們曾經在電影裡幻想的未來科技,實現在我們的日常生活中。例如,中國科技巨頭騰訊透過其微信平臺將通訊應用程式的概念提升到一個全新的水準,該平臺結合了即時通訊、社群網路、搜尋引擎、電子商務購物平臺、繳費支付系統等多項功能,為使用者建立了集合衣食住行的生態系統,使使用者幾乎可以在微信平臺上解決生活中的大小事。

根據微軟最新研究預測,2021年亞太地區將有超過60%的國內生產總值(GDP)來自數位產品和服務。在本文中,我們將深入探討Premia亞洲創新技術ETF(3181HK所著重的3個數位技術相關領域:

• 電子商務
• 大資料和雲計算
• 人工智慧


電子商務 — 阿裡巴巴、京東

正如我們先前發佈的文章〈China Consumer is King〉中提到,阿裡巴巴旗下電子商務平臺天貓在2017年"雙11購物節"創下單日銷售額250億美元的超高紀錄,是美國黑色星期五和網路星期一(2個美國重要的購物節)總銷售額的3倍。天貓在11月11日在24小時內共完成8.12億份訂單,相當於每秒湧入9,400份訂單。而中國另一家電子商務巨頭京東也在當天以及京東平臺的6.18購物節創造了巨大的銷售業績。

除了驚人的銷售資料外,整個電子商務生態系統的擴張其實更值得關注。首先,移動支付已成為主流,90%的支付是通過手機支付,相比3年前此占比僅約40%,這主要歸功於支付寶和微信支付等工具的日益普及。另外,大資料和自動化技術也充分地應用在供應鏈物流中,使電子商務生態系統如虎添翼。如天貓利用智慧物流,計算距離顧客地點最近的倉庫發貨,"雙11購物節"的首張訂單僅花12分鐘就送到顧客手上;而京東也已正式啟用無人機配送計畫,並為未來實現從倉儲管理到最終配送交付的一條龍自動化網路做了大量投研和基礎建設。


大資料和雲計算 — 百度、Naver、騰訊、阿裡巴巴、樂天


在這個變化快速的科技世代,大資料在業務分析、深度學習和人工智慧的進展皆扮演了至關重要的角色。根據國際資料資訊公司預測,2020年亞太地區的大資料商機將高達650億美元,而根據此趨勢未來將帶來更巨大的收益。

在大資料分析的產業生態中,經營搜尋引擎、社群媒體網站及電子商務平臺的企業無疑收集了海量資料——百度、Naver、騰訊、阿裡巴巴和樂天,也毫不意外地成為大資料分析領域的領先企業。與此同樣自然衍生的業務擴展還包括這些企業不約而同地進入雲服務和雲計算領域,利用其資料與平臺為其他機構提供服務,包括軟體即服務(SaaS),平臺即服務(PaaS)和基礎架構即服務(IaaS)等產品。雖然與亞馬遜或微軟相比,百度、Naver、騰訊、阿裡巴巴和樂天合總計的市場份額仍然很小,但這些亞洲平臺對於亞洲當地大資料分析和人工智慧發展仍然是重要的基礎設施。

應用層面來說,行為預測是大資料與人工智慧、機器學習等技術應用最廣泛的領域,從電子商務基於消費者過去流覽紀錄以推銷相關商品,到地圖應用程式在使用者經常的下班時間推送常用路線交通狀況,這些科技的應用早已滲透在我們的日常生活。


人工智慧 — 一種賦能技術,而非產品


人工智慧的研究已發展逾半個世紀,自理論電腦和人工智慧之父阿蘭.圖靈(Alan Turing)於1950年發表了催生人工智慧發展的論文《計算機械與智慧》,並提問"機器會思考嗎?",人工智慧已走過數十年漫長的發展歷程。"人工智慧(AI)"是一個相當廣泛的概念,其範圍從遊戲、機器人、行銷至金融科技、交通、醫療保健和教育等領域應有盡有,另外,概念上也包含上述的雲計算及支援人工智慧所需要的各種硬元件,如感測器、半導體、資料基礎設施等等。

為此,我們撰寫了〈人工智慧和機器人技術領域的領先企業〉一文進一步以案例研究,向大家介紹人工智慧和機器人技術領域中領先的亞洲公司:

- 安全和監控:海康威視
- 醫療保健:科大訊飛
- 消費電子:索尼
- 工業自動化:發那科
- 聯網汽車:三星、百度


本網站由Premia Partners Company Limited(“Premia Partners”)擁有和管理。 Premia Partners保留在不通知的情況下更改、修改、添加或刪除本網站的任何內容和條款及細則的權利。建議用戶定期檢閱本網站的內容以熟悉任何修改。

交易所買賣基金像股票一樣交易,受投資風險影響、市場價值波動,並可能以高於或低於交易所交易基金資產淨值的價格進行交易。經紀佣金和交易所交易基金開支將會降低回報。本網站所載的表現數據僅供參考。過往表現並不代表未來表現。有意投資基金的人士在作出任何投資決定前,應詳細閱讀有關基金發售文件(包括其中所載的風險因素的全文)。

本網站由Premia Partners編制,未經證券及期貨事務監察委員會審閱。
©2018 Premia Partners Company Limited. All rights reserved

How is “digital revolution” in Asia transforming the way we live?

Aug 12, 2018

本文中文版 : 繁體中文 | 简体中文

Rainie Pan , CFA, FRM

VP Strategy & Analytics

Vicky Hsu

Analyst, Strategy & Analytics

Typically, I wake up by my Xiaomi home AI robot with morning news and weather forecasts. I would then order my breakfast to the office via Meituan and pay with Alipay. Baidu map would find me the closest driver nearby across Didi and other car service platforms and let the driver know the fastest route to my destination. On my way, I would check my Wechat messages and the latest moments of my friend circle. Via my smartphone, I can check my latest fitness data synchronized from my smartwatch and smart-scale; I can also remotely reset my door password for my cleaner lady and control various electrical appliances at my home.

Brought about by the advent of the Internet of Things, digital transformation is quickly moving beyond the realm of future fantasies in movies to become a daily reality. Chinese technology giant Tencent, for instance, has taken the idea of a messenger app to a whole new level with its WeChat platform, which combines the capabilities of an instant messenger, a social network, a search engine, an e-commerce shopping platform, a payment system and plus many more in one ecosystem.

A latest study from Microsoft forecasts that 60% of Asia Pacific’s GDP will be derived from digital products and services created through use of technologies. In this piece, we take a deeper look into 3 digital technology related categories targeted by the Premia FactSet Asia Innovative Technology ETF (3181 HK):

• E-commerce
• Big data & Cloud
• Artificial Intelligence

E-commerce: Alibaba, JD.com

As mentioned in our earlier article China Consumer is King, Alibaba’s e-commerce platform T-mall scored a record high single day sales figure of US$25 billion in 2017, which is 3 times bigger than the combined sales of Black Friday and Cyber Monday in the US. A total of 812 million orders were generated in 24 hours, which equates to 9,400 orders per second. The other Chinese e-commerce giant JD.com has also generated significant sales on that day in its own 6.18 shopping festival.

Apart from the sales figures, it is interesting to notice the expansion of e-commerce ecosystem. On one hand is mobile payments - 90% of payments went through mobile phone, compared to about 40% just 3 years ago – this is largely attributed to the increasing penetration of tools like Alipay and WeChat Pay. On the other hand, we see impressive application of big data and automation in supply chain logistics - the first order of T-mall’s single day sold merchandise arrived at the customer’s door in only 12 minutes after purchase with delivery arranged from the closest warehouse; JD recently launched its drone delivery services and aims to eventually build an automated network from its warehouse inventory management to final delivery.

Big data & Cloud: Baidu, Naver, Tencent, Alibaba, Rakuten

Big data is important to business analytics in this fast-changing environment and to the advancement of deep learning and artificial intelligence. According to global marketing intelligence firm IDC, there’s a US$65 billion big data opportunity in Asia Pacific by 2020, and the trends point to big benefits.

In the ecosystem of big data analytics, the businesses that gathers most data are: search engines, social media platform, and e-commerce platforms, and hence these names surface with little surprise: Baidu, Naver, Tencent, Alibaba, and Rakuten. And almost a natural extension, all of them have initiated cloud services for other institutions to access offerings such as software as a service (SaaS), platform as a service (PaaS) and infrastructure as a service (IaaS). While the combined market share is still small compared to Amazon or Microsoft, these Asian platforms are crucial infrastructure for domestic developments in big data analytics and artificial intelligence.

Behavioral prediction is one example of learning based on big data, and it happens all the time from e-commerce platforms pushing merchandises to me based on previous views, to a map software pushing notifications of traffic conditions of my commonly taken route to home at the usual time I’m about to get off work.

Artificial Intelligence: a technology, not a product

AI has come a very long way since the ground-breaking work of British scientist Alan Turing, who is widely considered as the father of theoretical computer science and artificial intelligence. The term “Artificial Intelligence (AI)”, however, is a rather broad term and applications of AI ranging from gaming, robotics, marketing, to fintech, transportation, healthcare, and education, etc.. On the other hand, including the above-mentioned Cloud platforms, there are various hardware components needed to support AI, such as: sensors, semiconductors, data infrastructure and communication.

We will further dedicate a case-study piece to introduce AI & Robotics and examples of Asian companies leading in various applications:

- Security & Surveillance: Hikvision
- Healthcare: Iflytek
- Consumer Electronics: Sony
- Industrial Automation: FANUC
- Connected Cars: Samsung, Baidu

Related ETFs: Premia Asia Innovative Technology ETF (3181 HK)
Related articles: Technology-enabled innovations: Disrupting Reshaping Asia growth

This website is owned and managed by Premia Partners Company Limited ("Premia Partners") . Premia Partners reserves the right to change, modify, add or delete any content and the terms & conditions of use of this website without notice. Users are advised to periodically review the contents of this website to be familiar with any modifications.

ETFs trade like stocks, are subject to investment risk, fluctuate in market value and may trade at prices above or below the ETFs net asset value. Brokerage commissions and ETF expenses will reduce returns.The performance figures contained on this website are for information purposes only. Past performance is not indicative of future performance.Persons interested in investing in the Funds should read the relevant fund offering documents (including the full text of the risk factors stated therein) in details before making any investment decision.

This website is prepared by Premia Partners and has not been reviewed by the Securities and Futures Commission.
©2018 Premia Partners Company Limited. All rights reserved