工业互联网:中国的企业数字化转型与工业4.0

5/26/2020

随着联网汽车和智能家电等消费领域的应用日益普及,物联网(IoT,Internet of Things)已逐渐为人所熟知。 而在工业领域,正如我们一再强调与关注的话题——企业数字化转型将重写产业游戏规则,而工业互联网(IIoT,Industrial IoT)正是其中的重要环节。 事实上,工业互联网即是中国新基建七大重点投资领域之一,受到中国官方政策的大力支持。 所以,工业互联网是什么? 为何其中的行业领导者在疫情期间更具弹性? 在本篇文章中,我们将分享工业互联网的概念,以及该领域的发展进程和投资机会。

新冠病毒(COVID-19)疫情不仅是对中国医疗体系的考验,亦是对中国科技发展的一次随堂测验。 中国科技巨头BATJ(百度、阿里巴巴、腾讯、京东)在电子商务和社群媒体方面领先的科技应用已为人熟知,不过其创新科技发展早已远远超越消费领域,例如工业自动化即是一个显著增长的领域,而机器人和无人机也在此次疫情中被广泛应用,以各种形式协助政府及社会控制疫情扩散,包含监测和广播重要信息、运送医疗民生等关键物资、大规模喷洒消毒水,以及远程检测民众体温。

在封城期间,阿里巴巴率先采取行动,在不到48小时内与所有合作工厂联系,于春节假期间生产N95口罩和其他医疗用品,利用其先进的物流系统实时追踪仓储动态,并在其电商平台上以合理价格供应民众相关重要物资。 阿里巴巴更在旗下支付宝公益平台上发起"武汉加油"线上募款活动,短短8小时就已筹集人民币7,140万元。 另外,京东亦在武汉封城期间体现工业互联网在智能物流的应用,将智能车辆运送到城市边界,加载本地地图,并从北京远程操作(约1,200公里)向医院和社区运送货物。 中国科技巨头面对严峻疫情,积极确保社交隔离下的民众生活能尽可能"如常",透过一系列高效、可靠、创新的抗"疫"举措,完美展现了工业互联网的巨大潜力,亦成为中国新基建先行者的实践样本。

工业互联网是源于工业4.0和物联网的结合——工业先进制造和大数据技术的集成(图一),其概念是将物联网深度融合于制造业和工业生产过程,连接工业全系统、全产业链、全价值链,以发展数字化、网络化、智能化工业。 工业互联网典型案例包含智能制造、无人工厂和智能城市。

传统上被视为世界制造工厂的中国,近年来积极发展数字化和工业化,已渐渐从廉价的劳动密集型制造业,升级成高端的技术密集型制造业。 中国工业互联网在过去几年快速增长,预计市场规模将在今年达到7,000亿人民币,其5年复合增长率达14%(图二)。 结合云计算、数据分析、人工智能和机器人自动化的应用,工业互联网已大幅提升整体工业部门生产效率。 根据全球移动通信系统协会(GSMA)估计,中国将在2025年前占全球工业互联网市场三分之一。

腾讯、阿里巴巴、京东百度等中国科技巨头纷纷投入工业互联网浪潮。 京东雄心壮志地将5G和工业互联网应用于智能物流领域,利用5G网络低延迟、高频速和多终端连接能力,打造前所未有的实时连接系统,巨幅提升运营效率。 透过仓储设备、机器人和货车的全面通信连接,京东可有效达到降低成本、优化空间路线、精准油耗和智能调度。 京东目前拥有超过1,500万平方米的仓储面积,其中云仓储面积达250万平方米,由京东物流开放式仓库平台管理。 阿里巴巴、腾讯和美团亦在开发相似技术,利用人工智能、机器人和5G网络将现有的物联网融入生产制造端,建立大规模的通信连接。

本篇文章,我们将概述中国工业互联网的产业生态,并介绍其中的行业领导者(图三)。 阿里巴巴、腾讯和百度的云端服务平台和技术已是全球领先品牌,但中国工业互联网的战场远远不只这些科技巨头,随着工业互联网的发展,许多新兴企业凭借各自专业经验及技术,纷纷在不同领域崭露头角。

  • 边缘计算:边缘计算层是将运营技术(OT)层连接到信息技术(IT)系统以形成一个融合网络——即工业互联网的核心目标。 中国半导体领导者万亿易创新(存储芯片龙头)、汇顶科技(指纹识别芯片设计商)、景嘉微GPU芯片龙头)和紫光国微(智能安全芯片领导者)在边缘计算的连接、感测和管控领域中扮演了关键角色。 此外,中国光纤连接器领导者中航光电也是网络基础设施中的重要贡献者。

  • IaaS(基础设施即服务):工业互联网对其应用程序的云服务要求更高的可靠性、安全性及运营效能,因此许多主要的工业互联网平台会使用场外服务器、储存、网络硬件和各式基础计算资源(IaaS:基础设施即服务)作为构建平台的基础,以节省成本和时间。 中国的IaaS厂商包含浪潮软件(全球第三大服务器供应商)、中新赛克(中国网络流量监测龙头及宽带网设备供应龙头)和北斗星通(中国通信基础设施领导者)。

  •  PaaS(平台即服务):中国工业互联网的平台层以产业垂直应用为主,亦即企业针对本身特定产业量身定制平台以满足其应用需求。 中国制造业巨头们纷纷透过设计内部平台来优化运营,积极布局工业互联网。 中国家电领导者美的集团为中国首家自主兼备"制造业知识、软件、硬件"三位一体的工业互联网平台供应商,其工业互联网平台M· IoT已为电器制造部门减少80%的原材料库存、降低57%的故障反应时间、削减55%的检验成本,提高80%外观评估准确性,并将降低75%异常反应时间。 美的的主要竞争者格力电器海尔集团也开发了类似的工业平台,而宝信软件则是将其技术应用于钢铁产业,实现精确控制数字化、机械自动化和其他制造智能化。

  •  SaaS(软件即服务):中国工业互联网的软件层目前仍以企业软件为主,以开发、管理和部署工业相关应用程序为服务。 中国领先的软件开发商用友网络(亚太领先的ERP和云服务供应商)、东方国信(中国大数据软件领导者,已经成功构建全球最大的电信行业集中式数据系统平台)、泛微网络(中国领先的协作管理软件供应商)和广联达(中国建筑行业的领先软件供应商)都是中国新兴工业互联网的关键贡献者。

  •  网络安全:工业互联网涵盖大量运营技术(OT)和信息技术(IT)的系统设备,使得网络安全问题更为复杂,因此尽管硬件和软件设备供应商皆已在其产品中嵌入安全功能,从工业互联网整体系统级别上实施安全控管仍是有必要的。 中国网络安全领导者深信服启明星辰绿盟科技南洋股份卫士通皆已跨足工业安全领域。

相比消费领域中的数字化转型,工业发展进程确实在日常生活里较不易被察觉,不过事实上,工业互联网正低调地快速成长中。 罗马不是一天造成的,我们在文章开头提及的防疫机器人和无人机应用,都是经过许多科学家和工程师日以继夜的研究和实验,才得以成就今日为世人所惊叹的商业化成果,且这仅只是中国工业互联网发展计划中的冰山一角。

根据IDC中国预测,中国的机器人和无人机市场规模将在2024年达到1211亿美元(图四)。 中国的大疆创新是全球最大的无人机制造商之一,目前拥有全球无人机市场约70%的份额。

工业互联网是人工智能、大数据、自动化和云计算等技术的集成,它是中国快速成长且受政策支持的新经济领域之一。 若对新经济领域感兴趣的投资者,我们的联合首席投资官赖子健(David)先生在〈疫情冲击下,中国A股新经济为何更具弹性且更能抓住成长机遇?〉一文中分享了如何在后疫情时代精准抓住中国长期投资机会。

考量中美紧张局势加剧,尤其是在科技方面,中国有望降低对外国技术的依赖,因此其相关投资是一个值得关注的重要趋势。 中国电子信息产业发展研究院(隶属中国国务院信息产业部)估计中国将在2025年前于新基础设施上投资10万亿人民币(1.4万亿美元),包含5G网络、物联网、人工智能,以及特高压线路和高速铁路,逐步将自动驾驶全面推升至无人工厂和工业互联网的层级。 摩根士丹利亦在另一份报告中提及工业互联网为中国新基建主要投资领域之一(图五)。

对于工业互联网及其相关主题如云端、人工智能、5G和工业4.0感兴趣的投资者,Premia中证财新中国新经济ETF将非常适合您,与其他主要中国传统指数策略相比,中国新经济在这些热门成长主题有较高的配置(图六)。 此外,若投资者期望更广泛的地区配置,如涵盖日本、韩国和台湾的行业领导者,可以参考我们的Premia亚洲创新科技ETF其成分股包含全球工业机器人领导者发那科基恩斯、全球半导体龙头台积电联发科SK海力士等工业互联网的亚洲重要企业。

IIoT: Enterprise digital transformation and Industry 4.0 in China

5/26/2020

IoT, or Internet of Things, has gradually become well-known to all as applications such as connected cars and smart home appliances gain popularity in the consumer space. As we have been advocating, enterprise digitalisation would be a game changing space to watch – and IIoT is one of the critical piece of it. In fact, IIoT is among the #NewInfrastructure agenda that was specifically mentioned as policy support priority in China. So what is IIoT? And why are the leaders resilient through and beyond COVID? In this piece, we will share the concept of IIoT (Industrial Internet of Things), the industry revolution in this space, and the implications to investors.

Fighting the battle against COVID-19 was not only a test of China’s healthcare system, but also an inspection parade of the country’s technology capabilities.  While many are familiar with China’s tech story from the BATJs in respect of e-commerce and social media, technology-enabled innovations have taken place far beyond the consumer space – industrial automation for example, is a segment that has seen significant growth. Robots and drones, for example, has been widely used in this pandemic to help authorities and society in various ways to battle the coronavirus outbreak, including monitoring and broadcasting, delivering the critical supplies such as medicine and grocery, spraying disinfectants, and detecting body temperature in public crowds.

In the face of lockdown, Alibaba was among the first to move, leveraging its IIoT logistics platform. The company collaborated with its manufacturing partners, in less than 48 hours, to produce N95 masks and other medical supplies during the Chinese New Year vacation, fast-tracking the shipping of warehouse stocks and offering essential supplies through its e-commerce platforms. Alibaba also initiated online donations through its digital payment system Alipay, collecting US$10 million in the first eight hours alone. JD also deployed its technologies of IIoT logistics networks during the Wuhan lockdown, shipping smart vehicles to the city border, loading the local map and remotely operating (from Beijing, about 1200 km away) deliveries of goods to hospitals and communities in Wuhan. Chinese technology giants have all entered the challenge of keeping the quarantined cities supplied during the outbreak. Those responses and actions have shown the superpower of IIoT with a high degree of innovation and flexibility.

The genesis of IIoT is the integration of Industry 4.0 and the internet of things – an integration of information technology and industrial excellence (Figure 1). The most prominent examples of IIoT includes smart manufacturing, dark factory (lights out), and smart city.

China, traditionally seen as the world’s manufacturing factory, has spent significant effort to transform from (cheap) labour-intensive manufacturing to high-end manufacturing through the development of digitalization and industrialization. Over the past years, China’s IIoT market has seen a rapid growth, reaching nearly 700 billion yuan this year with a 5-year CAGR of 14% (Figure 2). IIoT adoptions of cloud computing, analytics, artificial intelligence and robotic automations have led to incremental growth in productivity across the industrial sectors.  According to GSMA, China will account for one-third of the global IIoT market by 2025.

Chinese tech giants such as Tencent, Alibaba, JD and Baidu have all taken aggressive plans to scramble into the IIoT game. JD has ambitiously developed 5G and IIoT in logistics. The low latency, high speed and ability to support a broad spectrum of simultaneous connections provided by 5G networks creates an unprecedented level of real-time connectivity, significantly improving the efficiency of JD’s fulfilment operations. With warehouses, robots and trucks all communicating, JD can realize cost reduction, route and space optimization, more precision fuel consumption and smart dispatching. Of its current aggregate gross floor area of over 15 million square meters, around 2.5 million square meters are managed in this space under the JD Logistics Open Warehouse Platform. E-commerce giants such as Alibaba, Tencent and Meituan are working on something similar, leveraging AI, robotics and 5G to move beyond current IoT and create ubiquitous connectivity at scale.

Here, we would like to give you an overview of IIoT ecosystem with leaders in the building blocks (Figure 3). While tech titans BAT have provided cloud services as solutions to enterprise clients around the world, there are several emerging firms playing in the niche areas with their expertise.

  • Edge: The Edge layer is to connect the operation technology (OT) layer to the IT system to form a converged network, which is the target of IIoT. Chinese semiconductor leaders GigaDevice (fabless flash memory developer), Goodix (integrated chip designer who specializes in fingerprint sensors), Jingjia Microelectronics (GPU manufacturer) and Unigroup Guoxin (intelligent secure chip leader) play the key role in the field of edge modules for connectivity, controlling and sensing. Chinese electronic connector manufacturer AVIC Jonhon is also a key contributor for networking infrastructures to connect all the devices. 


  • IaaS: IIoT applications require special cloud services with higher levels of reliability, security and responsiveness to meet industrial requirements. Many major IIoT platforms, accordingly, leverage open-source technologies and industry capable cloud foundry (IaaS) as the foundation to build the platform, in order to save on costs and time. Chinese IaaS players includes Inspur (the world’s third server provider), Sinovatio (Chinese leading developer of network visualization infrastructure and network content security) and BDStar (Chinese expert in navigation and communication infrastructure). 


  • PaaS: Chinese IIoT PaaS are mainly industry vertical platforms, which are tailor-made for a specific industry to satisfy the vertical demand. China’s manufacturing giants has been jumping into the IIoT game by designing the platform in-house to optimize operations. Chinese home appliance leader Midea Group, for instance, has developed its own industrial IoT platforms M.IoT.  The platform is established to integrate software and hardware to enable digitalized precision control, machinery automation, and other means of intelligent manufacturing. Through M.IoT, Midea’s electric appliance manufacturing has reduced raw materials inventory by 80%, lowered fault response time by 57%, slashed inspection costs by 55%, improved external appearance assessment accuracy by 80%, and decreased abnormal response time by 75%. Midea’s major competitors GREE and Haier have developed the similar industrial platform, while Baosight adopts the technologies in iron and steel industry. 


  • SaaS: The software player develops industrial application on IIoT platform that enable capabilities. Chinese leading software leaders such as Yonyou (China’s leading ERP and cloud services vendor), BONC (China’s big data leader who has successfully built the world's largest centralized data system platform for the telecom industry), Weaver (Chinese leading collaborative management software provider) and Glodon (leading software provider in the Chinese construction industry) are the key contributors to the emerging IIoT segment as SaaS plays the significant role in the evolution of IIoT. 


  • Cyber Security: The rich number of devices in the IT and an OT system makes the IIoT security more complex. Although the hardware and software vendors have embedded the security features in their product, the IIoT security needs to be implemented from the system level. There have been several Chinese industry leaders involved in the industrial security, including Sangfor, Venustech, NSFOCUS, Nanyang Topsec and Westone.

Industrial applications may be less noticed during daily lives and not as eye-catching as the digital applications in the consumer space, yet it is indeed a segment experiencing exponential growth in a low-profile way. Rome wasn't built in a day, the robots and drones we presented in the opening story could have been commercialized only after days-and-nights of hard work in research & development by many scientists and engineers, and that is merely a tip of the iceberg of China’s aggressive IIoT development plan.

According to IDC, China's robotics and drone market will achieve US$121 billion by 2024 (Figure 4). China-based DJI, one of world’s biggest drone manufacturers, currently has about 70% of the global drone market share.

IIoT is enabled by the adoption of technologies such as AI, big data, automation and cloud computing, and it is one of the fast-growing, policy-supported new economy sectors in China. For those interested, our co-CIO David Lai also shared in one of his recent articles Why is China-A New Economy more resilient and captures opportunities better through COVID and beyond? about the post-COVID impact and how to capture the secular growth opportunities in China.

Given the backdrop of the heightened US China tension especially in the technology front, it is expected that investment drive to reduce China’s dependence on foreign technology would continue to be an important trend to watch out for. In fact, as reported by Bloomberg News, the government-backed China Centre for Information Industry Development estimated that China will invest US$1.4 trillion over six years to 2025, on new infrastructure including 5G networks, IoT and AI technology as well as items such as ultra-high voltage lines and high-speed rail that will underpin autonomous driving to automated factories and industrial IoTs. Separate Morgan Stanley report also specified Industrial IoT as one of the major areas of investment (Figure 5). 

For investors who are interested in gaining exposure to IIoT and the related themes of cloud, AI, 5G and Industry 4.0, the Premia Caixin CSI China New Economy ETF would be very well placed for such purpose, with its much higher sector allocation for such compared to conventional broad based indices (Figure 6). For those looking for more broader coverage of across Asia covering also global sector leaders from Japan, Korea and Taiwan, please do check out our Premia Asia Innovative Technology ETF or reach out to any of us for discussion.